Flörsheim/Main was first mentioned in documents dating back to 828, however, the municipal laws and the additional name am Main were only bestowed upon the town in 1953. In 1972 Flörsheim, Weilbach and Wicker formed the town of Flörsheim/Main.
The historic centre of Flörsheim with the spa park Bad Weilbach and the remains of the Linear Pottery settlement were included in the UNESCO list of protected cultural goods in 2008 was surrounded from the middle of the 16th century onwards by a drystone wall whose preserved remnant is the Main Tower.
The impressive outline of St Galls Church as a typical example of the rural late baroque art of church construction, characterises the town. The famous Galls Concerts (Gallus Konzerte) have been taken place in the baroque chancel for more than 25 years. In the historic centre and communal district of Flörsheim numerous wayside crosses and chapels from the 17th to the 19th centuries can be found, which are partly stations during the great procession called Prozessionsweg am Verlobten Tag. This day has been celebrated for more than three hundred years annually on the last Monday of August in remembrance of the fact that the town had overcome the plague epidemic of 1666.
With the signature FFF the Faience Factory of Flörsheim is still present in the towns coat of arms. The prince-elector from Mainz established the manufactory in Flörsheim in 1765. Numerous jugs, vases and objects manufactured in the faience factory are on display in the Museum of local history, as well as a considerable number of paintings by Christian Georg Schütz Sen. born in Flörsheim in 1718 and his entourage.
The Flörsheim Watchtower (Flörsheimer Warte), once erected as a watchtower of the territorial army of Kastel, is not only the distinctive landmark on the Wicker high ground (Wickerer Anhöhe). While drinking a nice glass of wine visitors can enjoy a spectacular view over the vineyard site Herrnberg down into the Main valley and across the Forest of Odes. The second vineyard site in Flörsheim, St.-Anna-Kapelle is located in the area of the Wiesenmühle. St Annes Chapel built in 1715 is located there, which is dedicated to St Anna Selbdritt who gave the vineyard site its name. Flörsheim has its own wine tasting stand since August 2010. The wine growers from Flörsheim and Wicker offer their wines from the end of April to the beginning of October, from Fridays to Sundays in a pavilion on the Main dam and guarantee visitors and guests an enjoyable and good time.
The towns offer as for culture, free time and relaxation is written in large capitals, additionally festivals and markets characterise the lively town of Flörsheim/Main in the course of the year. Numerous hikers and pilgrims pass through Flörsheim-Weilbach on their hike along Bonifatiusroute from Mainz to Fulda. Visitors can take the Main Bicylce Route (Main-Radweg) R3, one of Germanys most famous long-distance cycling trails on Flörsheims side of the Main.
Under the motto Give the Landscape Meaning a Landscape for the Senses the regional Park Rhine-Main aims at protecting open spaces between the settlements in the conurbation of Rhein Main and at developing them as habitat and peoples place for relaxation. Numerous ways and itineraries, squares and observation points designed by horticulture and architecture as well as artistically designed objects and installations offer famlies with children attractive destinations in Flörsheim and its vicinity: the Poets House (Haus des Dichters) in Weilbach as well as the stones along the panoramic path, (Steine am Panoramaweg), the former territorial army of Kastel (Kasteler Landwehr), the Flörsheim Watchtower or the iron tree in Flörsheimer Schweiz.
Learn more about Flörsheim/Main at: www.floersheim-main.de.