The small winegrowing community of Walluf which marks the eastern border of the historical Rheingau can boast to have emerged out of the darkness of history 1250 years ago. The record dates back to 770, which states how the Franconians divided their territory into administrative districts. These newly created areas were marked out in the name of the Franconian King. Only a few years later written records confirm the first vineyards close to the town of Walluf and in this way make it the oldest winegrowing community of the Rheingau. As long as the Sovereigns of Mainz were in charge, the small community on the bank of the Rhine was an outpost of the diocese of Mainz and the actual Gate to the Rheingau. Those who wanted to travel to the pleasant Rheingau, as formulated by Goethe, had to ask for admittance at the gates of Walluf, which were well-fortified.
Today, lovingly restored houses close to the banks of the Rhine and a little promenade along the Rhine can be found in Walluf. Places of interest include the remains of a castle, the ruins of the Church of St John, noble courts and a marina.
In Oberwalluf, the small town further up the hill, which can be reached via the Mühlenwanderweg (Mill Trail) in the Walluf Valley, the penance garment of St Elizabeth can be admired in the Church of St Martin.
Learn more about Walluf at: www.walluf.de